Basic Scaffolding

  • cantilevered materials hoists with a maximum working load of 500 kilograms
  • ropes
  • gin wheels
  • fall arrest systems, including safety nets and horizontal lifelines
  • bracket scaffolds


Intermediate Scaffolding

Scaffolding work included in the class of Basic scaffolding.

  • cantilevered crane loading platforms
  • cantilevered scaffolds
  • spur scaffolds
  • barrow ramps and sloping platforms
  • scaffolding associated with perimeter safety screens and shutters
  • mast climbing work platforms
  • tube and coupler scaffolds


Advanced Scaffolding

  • Scaffolding work included in the class of Intermediate scaffolding.
  • cantilevered hoists
  • hung scaffolds, including scaffolds hung from tubes, wire ropes or chains
  • suspended scaffolds


Scaffolding work that contains scaffold from which a person could fall more than four (4) metres is classified as ‘high risk work’ under the WHS Regulations for which a licence is required

A licence is not required if the height of the completed scaffold is less than four (4) metres and a person cannot fall more than four (4) metres.


Yes. Scaffold licences are recognised throughout Australia.

Scaffolding licences are valid for five (5) years.